Organisation of the Classes

Foundation Stage (ages 3 to 5)

The Foundation Stage is made up of Lower Foundation Stage (LFS) and Upper Foundation Stage (UFS) classes.

We have a 26 place Lower Foundation Stage (LFS) with two sessions a day (morning and afternoon). Children in LFS attend for one of these sessions.

Children move in to Upper Foundation Stage during the September before their fifth birthday. Children in UFS are offered a full time place spending a full day enjoying their curriculum. The UFS children have the same break times and lunch time as Key Stage One.

We are proud of the fact that the Lower and Upper Foundation Stages work closely together to ensure the childrens needs are fully met. There are times when children from the two stages work together and share their experiences for the mutual benefit of all.

Key Stage One (KS1 ages 5 to 7)

We have two KS1 classes which are:

  • Year 1 – Children aged 5 to 6 years
  • Year 2 – Children aged 6 to 7 years

These classes follow the KS1 National Curriculum.

Key Stage Two (KS2 ages 7 to 11)

We have four KS2 classes which are:

  • Year 3 – Children aged 7 to 8 years
  • Year 4 – Children aged 8 to 9 years
  • Year 5 – Children aged 9 to 10 years
  • Year 6 – Children aged 10 to 11 years

In addition we run two booster classes in the morning for the KS2 children. These provide improved pupil/teacher ratios for those children at risk of not making the expected progress in literacy and mathematics.

These classes follow the KS2 National Curriculum.